

## THE BELLE BROTHERTON AWARD

Since 1997, the League of Women Voters of Michigan has presented awards at each biennial state convention that recognize the members whose values, service and leadership set them apart. In quiet and public ways these are the individuals who are doing the most to passionately fulfill the mission of the League of Women Voters.

The Belle Brotherton award, named after the first president of the League of Women Voters of Michigan, is the premier award given by the League. It honors an individual whose outstanding leadership and significant accomplishments have benefited the citizens of Michigan, inspired others and fostered greater public participation in the democratic process

- 2025 Christina Schlitt (Grand Traverse Area)
- 2023 Betsy Cushman (Dearborn/Dearborn Heights)
- 2021 Judy Karandjeff (Lansing Area)
- 2019 Sue Smith (Washtenaw County)
- 2017 Suzanne Dixon (Holland Area)
- 2015 Edith Prunty Spencer (Flint Area)
- 2013 Mary Brown (Kalamazoo Area)
- 2011 Eva Packard (Oakland Area)
- 2009 Anne Magoun (Grand Traverse Area)
- 2007 Marguerite Kowaleski (Oakland Area)
- 2005 Pat Donath (Lansing Area)
- 2003 Shirley Porter (Kalamazoo Area)
- 2001 Ginny McCaig (Grosse Pointe)
- 1999 Debbie Macon (Oakland Area)

## THE EVA PACKARD VOTER SERVICE AWARD

The Eva Packard Voter Service Award honors a League member whose leadership and energy in the field of voter services has provided citizens with necessary information and encouraged informed voters through League work at the state or local level. The award is named for LWVMI's dynamic, 10-year Voter Services Director, Eva Packard, who introduced VOTE411 to the state and local Leagues in the early 2010s. Eva was editor of the state printed voter guide for several issues and led in helping local Leagues with candidate forums.

2025 Carolyn Vertin (Lenawee County)

2023 Judy Florian (Grosse Pointe)

**The Helen Milliken Civic Empowerment Award** preceded the Eva Packard Voter Service Award and was awarded between 2007 and 2021to the following:

- 2021 Janet Magennis (Holland Area) and Maria Rivera (Macomb County)
- 2019 Nancy Schewe (Washtenaw County) and Beth Moore (Lansing Area)
- 2017 Jane Watts (Grand Traverse Area)
- 2015 Vina Mikesell (Leelanau County) and Pam Brady (Troy)
- 2013 Terry Hluchyj (Kalamazoo Area), Judy Bateman and Jerry Burden (both Oakland Area)
- 2011 Paula Bowman (NW Wayne County), Susan Gilbert (Berrien-Cass Counties) and Ernestine Tune (Flint Area)
- 2009 Betsy Cushman (Dearborn/Dearborn Hts) and Linda DePoorter (Oakland Area)
- 2007 Eva Packard (Oakland Area) and Kay Perry (Kalamazoo Area)

## THE JUDY KARANDJEFF ADVOCACY AWARD

The Judy Karandjeff Advocacy Award honors a League member who has excelled in leading and/or taking action to carry out the League's mission of defending democracy. Named for Judy Karandjeff, past LWVMI president and advocacy chair whose legislative experience and intuition helped develop LWVMI's advocacy program in the 21<sup>st</sup> century. Judy has trained local Leagues in the methods of effective advocacy and has developed the guidelines we use today.

- 2025 Nancy Behring (Manistee County)
- 2023 Carolyn Madden (Washtenaw County)

**The Maryanne Mahaffey Community Service Award** preceded the Judy Karandjeff Advocacy Award and was awarded to the following League members between 2007 and 2021:

- 2021 Jan Warren (Grand Traverse Area) and Denise Hartsough (Kalamazoo Area)
- 2019 Chris Sullivan-Rathwell (Dearborn/Dearborn Hts) and Laura Callow (NW Wayne County)
- 2017 Sarah Delia (Mt. Pleasant Area) and Rose Marie McQuaid (Midland Area)
- 2015 Fran Hambug (Midland Area)
- 2013 Fran Schonenberg (Grosse Pointe)
- 2011 Barbara Moorhouse (Oakland Area)

- 2009 Mary Bugeia (Dearborn/Dearborn Heights)
- 2007 Della McGraw Goodwin (Detroit)